Friday, September 25, 2009

Aloha!


I'm down here in Hawaii, and I can already tell that I'll be posting fairly infrequently here for the next couple months. But, December 1st my new roommate moves in and his former job was... A GOLF INSTRUCTOR! I'm psyched. Also I'll be hitting up the Sony Open and maybe the Mercedes-Benz in January. I've been keeping up with the Fed-Ex, and even though my money is on Tiger, I love Padraig and Stricker and I'm gunning for one of them. So yeah, I have a feeling I'll be kind of absent for the next two months, but then I'm focusing on golf after that. Because, I'm going to say it, I want my career to be in the golf world. Golf all the time!

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

I am off to Hawaii tomorrow, and blogging about it over at KatieinKona.blogspot.com. You guys, I am going to be doing some amazing golfing. So stoked.

Saturday, August 29, 2009


This picture from the first round of the Barclays made me laugh, it looks like Lady Liberty is a crowd marshall, asking New York to "Wait, please!" while Tiger putts.

Yesterday I started planning my next tournament trip! In two weeks I move to Hawaii, so I won't be able to make the JT Shriners Open in Vegas this October, but I'm going to hit up the Sony Open in Honolulu and maybe even the Mercedes-Benz Championship in Maui at the start of next season. Yeah, it's four months away, but I figure time will fly by while I'm getting used to life in Paradise.

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

On Player Profiles on PGATOUR.com and Adam Scott Being Hot


When my girlfriends have trouble picturing anything other than old men in argyle when I say I'm into golfers, I show them a picture of Adam. They get it.

As a general rule golfers tend to look horrible in the picture PGATOUR.com choses for their profile, average looking on camera and always, always better in person (this rule doesn't apply to Adam Scott, as you can tell from above, he looks good all the time) In person, golfers have a certain je ne sais quois about them that doesn't always translate, and I am so into it. I used to seriously have a thing for musicians. I was always dating or falling in love with some guy in a band, usually a cute boy who played guitar, and there is a certain way most musicians stand or carry themselves or something and I totally fell for it, all the time. Well now, shocker, that has completely transferred into golf. I mean, I guess it's only natural to gravitate towards men who share my passion, but the sexiest men to me right now are all golfers. Anyway, back to PGATOUR.com player profiles- I feel like the person in charge of putting them together either has some sort of vendetta against most of the golfers or just very poor taste. There's always at least one fairly bad picture and usually some strange, random fact about the player or an odd quote. I think they need someone else on the job, and I would gladly make myself available!

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Ryan Finally Wins!!


If you've read through my blog or talked golf with me at all, you know Ryan Moore is one of my favorite golfers. Even my non-golf friends all know Ryan's name, and usually get an update on how his game is going each weekend. I dig him, I think he's one of the coolest golfers on the TOUR right now. I love that he isn't a walking billboard for sponsors, I love his style, and I love that he is so low key. I chatted with him for a bit at the Bob Hope earlier this year, and I got such a great vibe from him. With one exception from someone who's honestly a bit of a brat, every time his name's been brought up (usually by me) when I've been talking to other Pro's they've only ever had great things to say about him. I feel like he's really flown under the radar, but I'm sure that will change now with his first win. I'm calling that this is just the tip of the iceberg for Ryan, and he'll be one of the top players on TOUR next year. I remember reading a little blurb about him right before the U.S. Open this year, and him saying he was feeling good about this game, and clearly he's a great place right now. He jumped from 76th to 22nd in FedEX Cup standings, doubled his money for the year and is finally getting some serious validation and recognition. I'm so stoked, and if you'll look back to my previous entry- I totally called it.

I like Stadler too, he was paired with Ryan and Elky for the first two days of the Zurich Classic in New Orleans, and Jess and I followed their group for some of the time. We watched him finish up a round in Reno at the Legends a couple weeks ago, and noticed he was putting with an iron. Apparently a few holes back he was angry and broke his putter on a rock, so he had to finish up without. He was playing with McCarron, and they had a good laugh about it as they walked off the green.

My dad and I are checking out the Champions Tour this Friday, they're making a stop in Snoqualmie for the Boeing Classic. I don't think I'd ever take a special vacay just to see the Champs like I do for the regular TOUR, but Snoqualmie is close by and it will be cool to hang out around golf for a day. Also my big move to Hawaii is three weeks away, and I'm taking the opportunity to spend some time with mi padre, whose been a golf fan for decades, before I leave.

Thursday, August 20, 2009

Quick Lunch Break Note!


Ryan Moore, one of my favorites, is killing it right now at the Wyndham. He finished at 6 under, no bogeys. I'm psyched! He's been playing so well lately, I really hope this is his weekend for his first TOUR win. He is long overdue.

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Home!

Me and Jess, with sunburns and lemon drops.

According to my friends, as soon as they asked me about my trip to the Legends I got starry-eyed and an absolutely contented smile spread across my face. One of my girlfriends observed that I was speaking about golf the same way our other friends was speaking about her new boyfriend she was falling in love with. I can't help it, I am completely in love with golf. Our trip was wonderful, although probably the most un-eventful of our trips so far. The LRTO was the same week as the World Golf Championship, as well as the smallest purse on the TOUR, so it wasn't the most thrilling field. And honestly, we were perfectly fine with it.




Chopra was there, like he told us he would be in New Orleans, and we're always psyched to see him. He is such a cool, low key guy. He always says hi and chats for a bit when he can, but he never hits on us, which we appreciate since he's a married man! Every time I see him he moves up a bit on my list of favorite golfers, and he pretty near the top right now. On the second day while we were following him we watched him have a couple good shots, especially 18. On his first shot on the par 4 he hit his ball outside the rope onto the cart path, took a drop and hit the ball neatly onto the green. He made his putt for birdie and easily made the cut. He didn't fare so well the next couple of days, but that was a great hole to catch. There is nothing like seeing a golfer I love and whose game I follow play well in person, it's the coolest thing ever.

On Saturday and Sunday we hung out next to the green on 17, a par 5, and caught some really great shots, like Ryan Palmer's birdie on Sunday. His second shot landed in the bunker, and his third shot barely made it over the lip, but he sank his putt. Palmer and his caddie walked away with pretty big smiles from that hole. We also saw cool shots on 17 from Barcelo, Quinney and Kaye, to name a few.

I'm happy to report that my sister, who wasn't a golf fan a week ago, really enjoyed herself- she even got a crush on James Nitties! Golf is so underrated, and I know if more people went to tournaments, especially ladies, they would really get into it. It's the perfect way to vacation. You have something to do during the day, your nights are free, and if you can make a couple buddies on the TOUR you get to hear some great golf stories.

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Life Changes, the Legends next week, and a bit of Intrigue!

So here is the thing- I'm moving to Hawaii in September! I have a job and a place to stay, and could not possibly be more psyched! However with the big move coming I've been working 6 or 7 days a week at two different jobs, plus trying to get as much as I can out of summer. Summer is like a drug to me- I am completely addicted, crave it always and throw fits when I can't have it (hence the reason I'm moving to Hawaii). So clearly all of this leaves little time for blogging. But you know I've been golfing my derriere off! I haven't been able to get out and play 18 holes in a couple weeks, but I have been good about hitting balls and the practice green loyally.

I am so stoked about vacationing to the Legends Reno-Tahoe Open next week with Jess and Char! I haven't seen a full player commitment yet, but Charley Hoffman and Rocco Mediate are going to be there, as well as a handful of others I'm excited about. PGATOUR.com usually posts the current field the Friday before, so hopefully tomorrow I'll know which of my guys I get to see next week. What with the move I think this will be my last tournament for a bit, so I'm extra excited. I'm excited about writing about it, as well. I've found that when I try to give a little commentary on a tournament I've watched on television I've don't have anything really blog-worthy to say. The tournament experience is my niche. Clearly I need my own show on the Golf Channel- "Katie and Jessica do the PGA TOUR"... wouldn't you watch?

I kind of wish that the Internet wasn't so huge and public so I could tell you which Pro has been texting me lately, saying he's been thinking about me and wants to see me. I will say it's not anyone I've mentioned on this blog, and he's not super well known. And I will never, ever put it out there in a public forum. I hear a lot of gossip from golfers and caddies, and I swore early on that I wouldn't pass any of it along on my blog. Most of it is harmless, akin to someone griping about their co-workers over drinks after work (which essentially is what they're doing), but you never know who is reading the Internet, and the last thing I would want to do is stir up some drama! Plus, even those most of the pros are basically 23 year old frat boys who have never had to grow up, every single one I've met and interacted with has been really cool.

Anyway, we're off on Monday night, getting into Tahoe Tuesday for Parasailing, and heading to our room in Reno that night. I'm bringing a little journal to jot down some stories as they happen, and will be back with a report the following week. Anyone else going to be at the Legends??

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

I swear there are some semi-interesting thoughts on golf and my life coming up soon, but in the meantime, Jessica and I booked our next trip. We'll be at the Legends Reno-Tahoe Open in the beginning of August, and we've convinced my sister Charity to come! We sat around Jessica's dining room table tonight eating cheesecake and planning the trip, and I think Char is almost as excited as Jess and I are. I'll be celebrating my 23rd birthday down there, and couldn't think of any other place I'd rather be than at a PGA TOUR tournament. A year ago, I wouldn't have believed I would ever say that sentance. Life is funny.

Sunday, June 21, 2009

I've been a delinquent blogger! The Internet just does not have a high enough priority in my life to be a good blogger, I guess. Fortunately golf is high on my list, and I have been doing much of it! I got in two rounds this week, and I have been a good little practicer. I'll be pro in no time! Or at least good enough to hold my own with a group! Anyway, I am off for a bit over a week, but I have plenty of exciting things to share when I get back.

Au Revoir!

PS- I called that Ryan Moore would kill it this weekend last Monday. Top 25 at least, if not top 10. And I'm psyched about how well the Amateurs are doing, especially Nick Taylor, he's from my hood!

Thursday, May 21, 2009

First Day of School!

The obligatory picture!

Today was my first day in a four week lesson session at McCormick Woods. I've been looking forward to this all week, and when I woke up this morning the first things that registered were the sun and shining and it was Lesson Day! It was a gorgeous evening in the Pacific Northwest, there wasn't a cloud or chemtrail in the sky. There are about 8 of us in the class, a couple men and a handful of sweet middle age ladies, all of us beginners. We worked on putting and chipping today, on getting our rhythm down and using our cores instead of our arms. It's funny for me, because my only frame of reference to golf is watching the Pros who make it look so easy- the Tao of Golf, I suppose. Anyway! Those few shots where I connected and sent the ball where I wanted it to go were priceless. I love golf.

Monday, May 18, 2009

Back to School

I've signed up for lessons at McCormick Woods. It's a four week beginner's course, and I couldn't be more excited! I bought some new shoes this weekend, and I'm a little bit in love with them. I spotted a golf discount store in Post Falls, ID on our way to Sandpoint for my cousin's wedding.,I made my dad pull over, I ran in and had my shoes picked out and paid for within five minutes. They're pretty little Nikes, beige with tan patent leather details. I realized I didn't own a single collared shirt, so I went "Back to School Shopping" today. I came home with several new outfits, and am so excited I keep trying them all on. I've never been more excited for school!

Sunday, May 10, 2009


Way to go, Henrick! And Best Recovery goes to Chopra- he went from +3 on Thursday to tied for 14th. He's getting it back together after a very slow start this season, good job buddy!

Friday, May 8, 2009

Apparently, Smile at Me and I'm Yours


Yesterday a friend and I went to dinner at my favorite local brewery, where she made the mistake of asking about my recent trip. Well I started chattering about it while we were still in the car, continued while waiting to be seated, through ordering our beers and food and a good 3/4s of the way through the eating. To my friend's absolute credit she fought off watching a movie in her mind while I talked on and on about Elk and his damn caddy (first thing he said to me? "Oh you're staying on St Charles? I hear all the witches come out at night- you'll fit right in."), hanging out with Turnesa and telling him the story of watching him win in Vegas and Jessica spilling her coke all over while he made his final putt, sitting on the 17th green on the final day and watching Charles lose his shot at his first win... Anyway, my friend would pipe in with little questions every so often when I stopped to breathe. I was telling her about meeting Emeril Lagasse and that he was playing with Parker McLaughlin, one of my favorite golfers, and she says,"Okay so what makes someone one of your favorite golfers? Is it scores or personality or what?"

What a question! I'm almost embarrassed to admit that about half of the guys on my radar are there simply because they're cute or I saw them at a tournament and they talked to me, but I still can't really explain why a certain golfer becomes a favorite. I like Rocco Mediate because I happened to catch a couple interviews with him and I just liked him. I've already talked about Charley's huuuge smile and crazy blond hair sticking out of his hat, Moore's headband in Vegas, joking around with Quigley at the BHCC- all just little things that jumped out to me. I like the guys who aren't the biggest names, the ones who I'm used to seeing at the tournaments I go to. I guess I just like characters, cute guys and underdogs, and really, who can blame me?

Ben Crane just recently made my list of guys I follow. He's from Portland (about 3 hours from me), and Jess and I watched him for a bit while we were at the Zurich. We actually ended up chatting with his coach for a couple holes (who was such a cool guy- we kicked ourselves for not figuring out some way to keep in contact with him), we always love getting "insider perspectives" from people. Anyway, for Crane that was all it took. I watched him a bit, made some sort of quasi-third degree connection to him, and now he's highlighted on my custom PGATOUR.com leaderboard. So needless to say, yesterday I was psyched. I was gunning for him this morning, but he's sitting at +1 today, -6 total. But I also know that scores flip flop all over the place, and more often than not they're completely different when I get home from work and check than they were in the morning. In the meantime I'll be mentally cheering on a long list of favorite golfers from the cafe today, hoping Chopra is birdie-ing it up while I'm pulling shots and steaming milk.

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

When You See Us at a Tournament, Don't Call Us Groupies!

I found this while looking at pictures from the Zurich- can you spot the two non-groupies arriving at the tournament?

In the past six months Jessica and I have been to three PGA Tournaments; the Justin Timberlake Shriners, the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic, and just two weeks ago the Zurich Classic. It's how we choose to vacation, we save up our money and time, shop around for the best travel deals, get people to cover us at work and upset all of our family and friends by chattering non-stop about it, then we go. We spend every day, all day on the course- we don't care to sit around in the clubhouse all day and sip drinks, we prefer to either sit at a hole or follow certain groups. There is an ever growing list of guys we follow, golfers that are either our buddies or we just happen to like them for one reason or another, and we know all about them- their stats, their swings, how long they've been on the tour, if they've ever been yelled at for walking in some one's back swing... the point is, we're fans- we know them. When they play well we're psyched, when we see them Double Bogey what should have been an Eagle putt on 18 we're bummed.

I get that we're somewhat of a rarity- we're two blonds walking around a course mostly full of middle age business men. There are plenty of Golf Wives/Girlfriends, but especially in the early days of a tournament us single ladies are few and far in between. (Which, by the way, needs to change. According to the internet there are plenty of lady golf fans! Where you at, ladies???) Look, I'm not complaining here, I've never been one to mind being a focus of attention and I can definitely attribute most of our cool experiences to being a standout during a tournament. It's fun and flattering, and Jessica and I often find ourselves giggling over a free drink or when a pro tosses us a water bottle or when someone asks which golfer we're with. It doesn't set women back a few decades to say that, and I believe we (as women) have advanced enough that we can say, with our post-feminist banners raised high, that we will use our gender to our advantage even if it means being a bit silly from time to time.

That being said, not being taken seriously starts to get annoying. I can't even tell you how many times we've said "No, we actually like golf..." when asked why we're really spending our vacation at a tournament. And then we hear it- "Oh, so you're like golf groupies." I think that most of the time men don't fully realize they're insinuating that Jessica and I go to golf tournaments just to fawn over the golfers and (hopefully!) sleep with them and maybe even get them to buy us stuff or invite us to go on tour with them or whatever, but it's a bit insulting nonetheless, especially for Jessica who is happily, happily married. Not to mention its insulting to the golfer's relationships. Here's the other thing- somehow being a girl means that you have a crush on whoever your favorite golfer is. It's a very strange thing, and I find myself wanting to make a little announcement at the tee- "Excuse me everyone, I would just like to let you all know that I do, in fact, like the game of golf and I have an appropriate amount of affection for Charley Hoffman. I'm not looking for anything special, I just want to watch an athlete I admire play a game I love. Thank you for your attention- have a good day."

If you attend tournaments often, chances are at some point in the future you'll see Jessica and I soaking up the sun and taking in the golf. We are currently plotting and scheming (something we do a lot of) different ways to find ourselves at a lot more tourneys (think Business Opportunity). Come talk to us! We love making friends with fellow golf fans, and we're always happy to talk golf. But please don't call us groupies, we're just like you- fans.

Monday, May 4, 2009

Home from the Zurich Classic in New Orleans!

Jessica and I on Bourbon Street, sunburned and happy after watching golf all week.

Our trip was amazing. I swear there is a review and some funny stories coming, but literally from the moment I walked to into my home my family has been hit with 3 fairly major dramas over the past week. A few highlights for now-

We've been fans of Chopra for a while now, and we were able to chat with him a bit and followed him for at least a couple holes every day. He is definitely in my top 5 golfers after this trip, he just seems like a really cool guy. I can tell these things.

Elkington and Ryan Moore were paired together for the first two days, which was cool because they're two of my favorites. It was really exciting to see Moore play particularly well on Friday. Unfortunately Elk didn't make cut, which sucks because he has yet to make a cut during a tournament Jess and I are attending. I really want to see him turn it around, and I am so rooting for him this week at the Players (which he's won twice now).

I love Charley Hoffman. Love him love him love him. I seriously wish he was my best friend.

I'm a fairly not confrontational person, but if I get called a freaking golf groupie one more time... it's so stupid how many times we were called that, just because we're girls whose idea of a perfect vacation happens to be going to a tourney. Jessica came up with a great comeback by Saturday- "Find me one golfer I've slept with!" You won't find a single one, we really just love golf!

We made a few more friends, had a blast in New Orleans, and are ready to go again as soon as an opportunity arises. If you haven't been to a tournament yet, please get yourself to one as soon as you can, it's the best experience!

Oh yeah, I'm psyched about Sean O'Hair winning the Quail Hollow! He is one to keep your eye on. He was supposed to play the Zurich but withdrew at the last minute which left me pretty bummed- it was almost like he didn't take my feelings into consideration (like my dad pointed out).

Monday, April 20, 2009

I leave in 2 hours for the Zurich Classic in New Orleans! Hopefully in a week I'll be back with stories! Au revoir!

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Huge Smiles!


I love Padraig. I can't always touch on why I love a certain person- I just kind of see someone and all of a sudden I'm in their camp for the long haul (I'm celebrating 10 years of loving Britney by going to her concert tomorrow night, and I am not at all ashamed!). That's how it was with Charley Hoffman, I saw him lumbering around the course with his blond hair sticking out and a huge smile on his face and he was an instant favorite. Anyway, I'm rooting for Padraig this week. "Paddy Slam" is my new favorite phrase! Even my sister, who has taken to asking "Is this about golf?" every time I start talking laughed when I showed her his chip in from Sunday and subsequent huge smile, even though it was for double bogey. It must be the huge smiles that trigger something for me, I love seeing people who take so much joy in what they do. And Pros have a lot to be happy about.

I'm like a little kid waiting to go to Disneyland. Jessica and I are getting so giddy for our trip to New Orleans for the Zurich! We've been checking out city guides, texting our various TOUR friends to find out who's going, and working every day to get ready for vacation. All of our friends and family are tired of hearing about it, we're only allowed to talk New Orleans and golf with each other. And speaking of huge smiles, that's all we have at tournaments, and they break out whenever we start talking about our trip!

So here is my life for the next few weeks: work-Brit-work-work-work-watch the Masters-work-work-work-work-pack-work-New Orleans! Pros aren't the only people who have a lot to be happy about!

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Jessica and I booked our flight and condo, I bought a city guide, we're hitting someone up for passes and saving all our money for the next month and going to the Zurich Classic in New Orleans!

Monday, March 23, 2009

Gawf Gal

Elkington and I at Tao in October

I was talking golf with mi padre tonight, which is always a funny thing. I was telling him how I like Brett Quigley a lot and how cool he was when I talked to him at the BHCC, and I really wanted him to win after his two 2nd place finishes. My dad has literally loved golf for decades, and I feel a little bit guilty that I've been into it for about 6 months yet have had all these great experiences. When I went to my first tournament, Jessica and I made friends with Elkington within 10 minutes of walking on the course, and that's really what started it all. I have a completely addictive personality (that's why I don't do drugs, I know I would never just try something once!) so once I get into something I really, really get into it. So now golf has consumed me, and all I've been thinking about the past week is how I can get to the Zurich in New Orleans next month. I can even explain how much I love tournaments, there's just nothing like it.

I convinced my dad and his buddies to let me tag along with them on Thursday, on the condition that I walk (I shot down their excuse that there wouldn't be room in the cart). My shoulder injury from when I flipped an ATV in September had flared up, so I think swinging a club will be out of the question, but I can at least be around golf all day. Plus I'm thinking of looking into working at one of the many courses in my area this summer, so I'll have an opportunity to chat up an acquaintance who does the hiring!

A funny and accurate Elk quote- imagine it with the Aussie accent- "Naw, Kates a gawf gal now!" I am totally a Gawf Gal.

Saturday, March 21, 2009

All Work and No Play!

Jessica and I while in Palm Springs for the BHCC. I seriously have the best boss ever.

Jessica and I have the itch. Jessica is my boss/bff/golf&travel buddy, and we are so sick of our suburb we want to die (we are fairly dramatic people). Yesterday at work she said. "you know, there's the Zurich Classic in New Orleans in April and flights are only like $250 and I checked my condo and it's available..." We looked at each other and could see the mental plotting and scheming going on between the two of us. The whole rest of the day we kept bringing it up, and getting this gleam in our eyes and a little bit giddy about the prospect. My sister had stopped by the cafe and at one point burst out "What are you two giggling about?!" We really really really want to go. Bad. We are tournament enthusiasts! I don't know if we'll make it or not, but since yesterday I've been eyeing all of my belongings wondering what I could possibly sell on Craigslist. I wish I had a Tour job.

Life has yet to slow down and give me enough time on a good weather day to golf. I haven't even had time to watch the Transitions on tv. Today the sun is out and it isn't freezing, but I have to be at work in an hour, and I'll be stuck inside until dark. Early next week is looking promising, so hopefully it works out. I'm going to take some lessons next month at Trophy Lake, and I'm trying to talk my dad into letting me tag along next time he plays Chamber's Bay with his buddies. I really wish I'd gotten into golf in high school, it would be so much cheaper! Maybe I'll try for a summer job on a course.

Keep your fingers crossed that I can get to New Orleans!

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Life!

Life has been rushing by lately. The musical I was in closed after 5 weekends of shows, I've been working almost every day in between shows and going to the Oregon coast this coming weekend, I'm working a Jon McLaughlin show tomorrow night in Seattle and all of my spare moments go to my beautiful dog, Huckleberry Finn. I haven't had much time for watching or writing about golf, never mind actually playing. I'm still looking for the perfect first set of clubs. Any suggestions?? I did finally have time to do a little shopping tonight, and I was scoping out golf clothes! If I had it my way I would wear summer dresses to golf, I don't believe in hiding my skin from sun rays and I live in strappy cotton dresses during the summer, but apparently spaghetti straps aren't okay on the course. I did pick up a couple cute argyle sweaters! Quintessential, no?



There are thoughts rolling around my mind begging to be written down, and I swear they're coming soon, but the next handful of days look like they're going to be a whirlwind. I'm going to miss the Honda Classic while I'm out of town and I'm commissioning Jessica to text me updates on all our guys. When life gets stressed like this I start compulsively day dreaming about being at a tournament- walking around in the sun with a drink in my hand, watching golf all day. It sounds heavenly, and it still cracks me up that I've fallen so hard for golf. And speaking of changes, I can't believe it's 11:30 and I'm barely keeping my eyes open, I feel like it's time to surrender my Night Owl card. Ah, the traps of becoming a semi-responsible adult. Anyway, I swear that there are posts of interest and wit coming up!

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

The Tournament Experience

I loved my first tournament immediately. I love being outside in the sun, I love walking, and I love being able to walk around in the sunshine with a drink. Easy. Even the rules are easy to follow, I'm more than happy to leave my cell phone in the car and usually I remember not to talk or walk or breathe loudly when someone is teeing off or putting or just being tense in general. During the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic I nearly sneezed once when Elky was putting... it was terrifying. I couldn't decide if it was better or worse that I knew him. I just imagined myself ruining his shot and then him not making the cut by one point or something. Luckily I held it off until the ball was in the hole, but still, terrifying. But after my first tournament, the Shriner's in Vegas in October, I was dying to go to another one, so Jessica and I schemed and plotted and I begged the director of the musical I'm currently in to let me miss a week of rehearsals the week before opening night, and we made it to the BHCC.


Here's the breakdown of the spectators based on the two tournaments I've been to. On the first few days, before the big crowds come for the final day, I'd say it's about 80% men, 10% golfer's wives, 5% women over 50 and 5% women under 50. Jessica had told me that during her first tournament people kept asking if she was a golfer's wife, and I got why right away. You can spot out a wife or girlfriend a mile away. First of all, they are all gorgeous, every single one of them, and they look very... expensive. And I mean that in the best possible way. Big sunglasses, big purse, BIG bling. Lowery's wife was particularly striking, Jessica and I saw her several times over the course of the weekend at the BHCC and noted how beautiful she was. I was asked a few times if I was some one's girlfriend. In fact, here's how most of our conversations with male spectators and volunteers went:


Them: So you ladies following around someone special?
Us: Well we have a few favorites. But no, we're watching everyone.
Them: Oh. So you actually like golf?
Us: Yep.
Them: Like... you actually follow it and stuff?
Us: Um...yeah...

I have to clarify that this was usually not as patronizing as it may sound, it's just that Jessica and I were a bit of an anomaly on the course. Everyone was completely gentlemanly, it's a much different sporting event than say, a football game. There's no swearing or yelling, no chest painting, no cheerleaders dancing around and the men are still mostly respectful even after sipping scotch all day, but it is a men's world nonetheless. I've long been a girl in a men's world. I grew up surrounded by boys until my two beautiful little sisters were born, and besides a handful of close girl friends, most of my friends are guys, so I fit well into the ratio. I love any live event. I've gone to too many concerts to count, I'm involved with community theatre and Mariner's games are one of my favorite things about summer. I love watching people do something they love and that they're good at, on any level. Every day of the tournament Jessica and I got there early and stayed until the last players were done.

I'm struggling to fully convey the tournament experience here, if you haven't been to one you just have to go. I'm completely obsessed now. I have some other travel commitments coming up in the next months (Oregon Coast, Mexico with a bunch of high school kids to build a house with Amor [amor.org, check it], camping and fishing in Wyoming) so the next tournament I'm going to get to is the Legends Reno Tahoe Open in August. I can't wait.

A few things I've decided about tournaments:
  • I love the smaller ones, it's nice to be able to be right at the rope and not have to deal with a ton of other spectators.
  • Unless someone I really like is in contention, the last day is not as cool. There are too many people.
  • I prefer tournaments with one course. The BHCC had 4, and we ended up missing a lot of people.
  • I like when the first day is a celeb/Pro-Am day, and the rest of the weekend Pro only.
  • We always have Clubhouse passes, but we haven't used them once. We're there to watch the golfers!
Readers, if you are there, what tournaments have you been to? What do you think about them? Let me know!

Friday, February 20, 2009

Northern Trust, Rounds 1&2

Everyone loves a good sports victory. Even if you don't like sports you love to get caught up in a good, honest victory a la Inspirational Movie. I really hope McCarron takes it this weekend. It's his hood, 50 frat bros are coming out tomorrow to follow him around (which would be either really funny or really annoying to watch, you can never tell with frat bros), and he is a really nice guy. And you may not know, he is a groovy dancer. His birdie on the 3rd hole was beautiful. So it's cool to see him do well and I'd be excited to see one of my guys win a tournament.

Nothing particularly insightful to say tonight, I just have been thinking about this day, and all of my friend's eyes get glazed over when I start chattering golf. Also I feel obligated to say something Tiger coming back, and what sticks out to me most is how excited the other golfers seem about it. Like I said, everyone loves a good sports victory.
I've officially become someone who yells at their tv during a sportscast! Thoughts on the Northern Trust coming tonight, I've got to get my show.

In non-golf but still sports news, Griffey is coming back to the Mariners!

Monday, February 16, 2009

My Favorite Golfers

Subject to change at any time, and I make no excuse for my reasons.


Steve Elkington

First of all, he's my friend and he gave me Justin Timberlake tickets in Vegas, so he's pretty cemented as my favorite, but the more I learn about golf the more I like him as a golfer. I can spot him a mile away on a course from his stride. He's fun to watch, at the BHCC we met a guy who comes every year just to follow Elky from hole to hole. He has his own clothing line (elksworld.com) that's verrrry swanky and sports it on the course. He's been off to a rough start this season, and I'm hoping he'll turn it around, which he is certainly capable of.

Charley Hoffman

I get a kick out of Hoffman, he just cracks me up. He's always lumbering around with this huge grin on his face and his hair sticking out, I liked him immediately when I saw him at the Shriner's. I've never talked to him but I have a feeling he would be incredibly cool. He's having a killer year, he's been in 4 tournaments so far and has been in the top 25 each time. Hoffman is just one of the athletes you can get behind, you know? I mean, look at this picture. How can you not want to see him do well?

Ryan Moore

Just like with Hoffman I liked Ryan as soon as I saw him. It was his headband, a la Richie Tenenbaum, that did it for me. He also happens to be from a town about 30 minutes from where I live, so he has the home town thing going for him. He has a cool vibe about him and seems pretty down to earth. I get the sense, from interviews with him and watching him play in person, that he plays as hard as he can on the course but doesn't beat himself up too badly for not winning every single time. I dig his style, too. I like the vests, ties and hats and his sneaker-cleats. It's a little bit hipster, a little bit golfer and yet doesn't come off as contrived (take a hint, Jesper). This season a big deal is being made about him forgoing sponsors with his attire and bag which I think is cool, he's said he wants to get back to just focusing on the game and playing golf. It's a cool thing to see someone choose integrity over money. I talked to him for a couple minutes at the BHCC (despite being tied for 5th place in 2008 he didn't make the cut this year) and he just seems like a very cool guy. He did well at the FBR open, coming in 6th place, and I hope to see him win a tournament this year.

Some more of my favorites are Scott McCarron, Bill Haas, Daniel Chopra and Brett Quigley; all because they're golfers I've talked to/watched on the course and I liked them, that's pretty much all it takes with me. I freely admit that I'm new to golf and don't know everyone yet, but I'll learn. I'm sure this list will change too, but these are the guys on my radar.

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Golf.

Golf has always been my dad's thing. For as long as I can remember he's played it, watched it, read about it, spent time and money on it. Growing up I knew all about life with golf in the background, if I called his office during the day and he wasn't in, I knew he was at the golf course and it would be pointless to try his cell. I knew the sounds of a tournament from television, the silence behind the announcer's voice (as oppose to other sports where there is always, always noise) and silence up until the ball went in the hole, then the smattering of applause. My mom was always mad because he would leave his golf clubs in the trunk, taking up too much space. But I never really considered taking an actual interest in the sport. Like I said, it was my dad and his friend's thing. Besides, the aesthetic of the game always seemed like something that would go against my soul. Golf seemed deliberate, thoughtful, meticulous... I am none of these things. I never thought of golf as boring, I never really thought anything of it. It was just a sport that flew under my radar. If six months ago you told me that now I would be obsessed with the game I wouldn't have believed you. So how did I get here?

About a year ago I was looking for a job. I'd just quit my high stress job and moved home from the city broken spirited. I was looking for something that would be easy and fun, where I could walk away from work and leave my stress at the door. I started working at a little cafe in town owned by Jessica. Jessica is going to be a recurring character here, so I'll explain her. First of all, she is beautiful. I say this first because it's what you notice right off the bat, she literally looks like Barbie. But after you get to know her you forget that she is intimidatingly blond, thin and tan because she has the most awesome personality. She is a mom, wife, life-liver and business owner, I believe in that order, and we became fast friends. Last August she invited me to come with her to Vegas in October for a golf tournament. Her cousin lived in Vegas and we would stay with her, so all I would need to purchase was my plane ticket. I'd never been to Vegas and I tend to be down for anything, so I said yes. It was only a few weeks before we left I found out it was a Justin Timberlake celebrity tournament! I figured I'd go for sure on the first day, stalk JT a bit (I love him. Love him love him love him), check out the other celebs and maybe go back to the regular tournament a few of the days.

Well, Vegas hooked me. It was the Justin Timberlake Shriner's Hospital for Children Open and at some point that weekend I got a crush on golf. I knew nothing about the game, nothing. I recognized a few names, I grasped the basic concept, but when Luke Wilson asked me if I thought a hole was a Par 3 or 4 I smiled and said "oh 4 for sure" without having a clue what I was saying, which I'm pretty sure he was well aware of. We made some friends with a couple golfers on the first day, and when I called my dad to tell him I'd met This Golfer or That Golfer he knew all about them. "Oh sure, he won the blah blah blah in 1998 and his blah blah blah", etc. I'm a pretty fast learner and by the end of the weekend I could make heads and tails of the game. At one point Jessica asked me where a ball had gone, and I shocked us both by (accurately) replying "it rolled off the back of the green." My first tournament and first time in Vegas was a whirlwind, we didn't sleep or eat enough, we drank too much, we spent days walking around in the sun and nights dancing. And in this public forum, my lips are sealed. After all, say it with me, what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas. And this blog is about the golf.

The whole tournament experience is a topic unto itself, to be delved into later. That weekend though, I was hooked. In between the friends we made, the closeness to nature, Ryan Moore's headband and being a part of the collective gasp and polite applause, I became a fan. It's only intensified sense then. PGATour.com is visited daily, I've started stealing my Dad's golf magazines and Jessica and I went to another tournament, the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic in January, where I would say my little crush on golf turned into a flow blown love affair. I can't get enough of it and I can't stop talking about it, which is why I'm starting this blog. I've found myself starting sentences with "I know you don't care about this but I'm going to tell you anyway" and then rambling on about who scored what, how much of a kick I get out of Charlie Hoffman, whatever. I'm a compulsive journal keeper anyway, and I want to chronicle my foray into trying to actually play this game. I honestly don't know if I'm mentally up to the challenge. We shall see.

Meeting Luke Wilson at the Shriner's in October. I had a broken hand from an ATV accident a few weeks before and this picture is right after he signed my cast.

Coming Up: The Tournament Experience From a Girl's Perspective, My Favorite Golfers, Hitting Balls for the First Time, and My Thoughts on the Season Thus Far.